Intermediate Certification Level

Intermediate Level Requirements

The intermediate level certification requires that ARES® members advance their skill levels accordingly.

A higher degree of involvement in Net Control, Public Service Events, SET (Simulated Emergency Test) or exercises.

Education Requirements

ARRL EC-001 Intro to Emergency Communications (not currently available through ARRL)

Skywarn Basic Spotter Training (available as a online course with a completion certificate)

(Optional) PR-101 Public Information Officers Course


There are four areas to be completed in this area.


There are eight documented areas that you have to show your proficiency in. Many of these will be addressed through group training sessions

At each monthly meeting assistance is available on your task book. Or you may contact the Training AEC directly with questions. That information will be in your welcome email that you receive.